Drum Major For Peace

1503248_802593536433302_299323431_n

“Every now and then, I think about my own death, and I think about my own funeral… I don’t want a long funeral, and if you get somebody to deliver the eulogy, tell them not to talk too long…tell them not to mention that I have a Nobel peace prize…tell them not to mention that I have three or four hundred other awards…I would like somebody to mention that day, that Martin Luther King Jr. tried to give his life serving others. I would like for somebody to say that day, that Martin Luther King Jr., tried to love somebody…

Say that I was a drum major for justice. Say that I was a drum major for peace. That I was a drum major for righteousness, and all the other shallow things will not matter. I won’t have any money to leave behind. I won’t have the fine and luxurious things of life to leave behind. I just want to leave a committed life behind.”

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

Ebenezer Baptist Church-Atlanta, GA – 2/4/1968

~ by CoachBehnam on January 19, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
